The Harvard Law School Association of Northern California

invites all alumni to join us for the Annual Summer Reception

A Fireside Chat with Julián Castro (JD '00)

Thursday, August 6, 2020
4:30 pm PT - 6:15 pm PT



Julián Castro served as U.S. Secretary of Housing and Urban Development under President Barack Obama from 2014-2017.  Before that, he was Mayor of his native San Antonio, Texas — the youngest mayor of a Top 50 American city at the time.  In 2012, he gave a rousing keynote speech at the Democratic National Convention, during which he described the American Dream as a relay to be passed from generation to generation.  In October 2018, Little, Brown published Castro’s memoir, An Unlikely Journey: Waking Up from My American Dream.

Moderated by Chris Wheeler (JD '02)
President of the Harvard Law School Association of Northern California.


Virtual, pre-program reception in break-out groups from 4:30 pm – 5:00 pm

Program discussion from 5:00 pm – 5:45 pm

Virtual, post-program reception in break-out groups from 5:45 pm – 6:15 pm  

In your RSVP, please include your class year, location, professional information, and any other information you would like to include for purposes of break-out room assignments.  

This event is open to all HLS Alumni.

An HLSA of Northern California wine glass will be shipped to the first 100 RSVPs.  

Questions?  Please contact LouAnne Laflamme at


Sponsored by


Thursday, August 6, 2020
4:30 pm PT - 6:15 pm PT




4:30PM - 6:15PM Thu 6 Aug 2020, Pacific timezone

Virtual Event Instructions:

Please register by reserving a free ticket using the link below.

Look Who's Coming:

Ryen Bani-Hashemi
Rachel Busch
Heather Wilkinson
Nicholas Berk
Katie Sass
Jee Young You
Phebe Hong
Jeremy Liegl
Paul Alsdorf
Amy Chen
Annie Lee
Kavitha Mecozzi
Cecilia Segal
  Natural Resources Defense Council
Jeffrey Bernstein
Melissa Mikail
Anders Yang
Eva Chan
Shelli Ching
Camille Patel Framroze
Raquel Sefton
  Fox Rothschild
Eddy Zheng
Chi Zou
Di Ai
Shelley Smith
Madelyn Chen
Andres Romero-Delmastro
Sean Quirk
Joshua Chang
Helen Lawrence
Anne Libbin
Elizabeth Pipkin
Richard Rochman
  Supreme Court of California
Robert Gibney
Neha Sabharwal
Rebecca Eisenberg
Leif Dautch
Scott Panek
Sidney Flores
Andrew Byrnes
Rebecca Vastola
Nicklas Akers
  California Attorney General's Office
Paul Renne
Delisle Warden
Novella Coleman
Sheila Warren
Michael Wei
Christopher Creed
Eunice Kim
  Stanford University
Jessica Budnitz
Judy Yuan
Ann Marciarille
George Postolos
Dennis Berman
  Molino Ventures LLC
Adam Lewin
Anne Thornton
Tony Phillips
Lee Brand
  Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP
Haihang Wang
Paul Sedway
Hillary Mimnaugh
Linda Seale
Kelly Diep
Christopher Wheeler
Alan Goldhammer
Victor Song
Greg Pilarowski
Edward Sun
Kevin Vosen
Jennifer Weddle
  Greenberg Traurig LLP
Janet Werkman
Natasha Kohne
Christopher Mann
  President, HLSA
Raquel Aldana
Matthew Coogan
Lowry Yankwich
Howard Brownstein
Joan Swirsky
Nancy Temple
Caroline Simon
Andrew Steckler
Rebecca Clayton
Laura Londono Pardo
Emilie Aguirre
Manny Medrano
Mitchell Santos Toledo
Delany Sisiruca
Raj Salhotra
Sophia Guzzo
Peter Zaldivar
  Kabouter Management LLC
Carolyn Ruiz
Tanika Vigil
Joseph Martinez
David Morales
Joaquin Diaz
Jenni Rosenberg
Fernando Tovar
Jorge Ramirez
  Texas Tech University School of Law
Karen B Haron
Carla Luna
Sylvia Herrera
Theresa Chung
Christopher Cruz
Beth Emery
Danielle Cassel
  Vedder Price
Alan Gabbay
Julie Anna Alvarez
  Columbia Law School
Tiffanni Sanders
Max Lupin
Martha Vega-Gonzalez
Yuqing Cui
Matthew Powers
Jasmin Sethi
Eric Sibbitt
Monte Travis
Natassia Velez
Andrew Woods
  Twitter, Inc.
Juanita Hernandez
Steven Schorr
Daniel Eaton
Stephen Wu
David Hope
... a total of 133 guests.
Note: to opt out from this list please sign in, go to My Account and change your preferences under My RSVPs.